Adjourning

Adjourning is an important part of teamwork. It gives members a chance to reflect on successes and failures throughout the process. It helps give closure people can move on other groups and projects. I think the groups that are hardest to leave are those that had the best norms and relationships establish- the group that learned to work together like a well-oiled machine. In my experiences, the top performing groups did not always have the best chemistry, but it often times there is a correlation. The better the team has learned to communicate, the better the results. When adjourning, I would like for there to be some debriefing including a very specific conversation about what went well and what could go better next time.

When I complete my Masters program, I would love to be able to take time to personally let each person I’ve developed a relationship with know how valuable they are. I would also like to be able to establish contact (through email or social media) with individuals outside of the program.

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. I appreciate your suggestion that a debriefing occur at the adjourning stage. Whether individual or team-based, some sort of final conversation would help for future team building. This along with exit interviews are far too rare in early education settings.

    Reply

  2. Posted by McKenzie Gray on October 14, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Laurie,
    I feel that the steps of adjurning allows for closing remarks from the team. In these remarks it allows you to critique the work that was done. This is a good time to get individual feedback on what you have been done better. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah on October 14, 2012 at 9:53 pm

    Hi Laurie,

    I agree with you on maintaining contact after we complete the program. I feel this is such a unique opportunity; we have gotten to know each other personally and professionally, but are not directly involved in our every day lives. It would be great to keep a professional network together for sharing thoughts and ideas!

    Thanks for sharing!
    Sarah

    Reply

Leave a comment